SOMEBODY’S BABY

I believe everybody needs to be somebody’s baby.  Allow me to elaborate;

newborn-baby-mother-adorable-38535.jpegI’m not talking about spouses or romantic relationships.  I’m talking about that family or framily (A close friend that is like family) member that you have a special bond with. That one you can talk to concerning anything, and if you need it to stay just between you and them; that’s the way it stays.  They are Your Confidant, Your Rock and you’re their baby. You know the one? That one that honestly and completely believes in you and encourages you in all that you do. That one that always speaks positively into your life and into your future.  Well, that was my Granny and me. 

***Side Note: Granny told me out of 33 grandchildren and 70 great-grandchildren I was the only one that called her “Granny”***

My Granny and I have been extremely close for as far back as I can remember. In fact, I lived in California with my Granny from age 8 years old to 11 years old, and then again, from 13 years old to 15 years old. After that, we stayed in touch through phone calls and her coming to Arizona to visit every 3 to 5 months. I always loved when my Granny came to town. We’d spend a lot of time together.  Once I became an adult; we talked on the phone every day.  It was as if she lived up the street, rather than in another state.  Our phone greeting went like this: Me: “HEY GRANNY!”  Granny: “HEY GIRL!” We’d go back and forth like this until we started laughing.  And whenever she came to town she’d stay at my house. Sometime she’d stay for a whole month. When I go to meet her at the bus station  I’d always greet her with “Me Little Granny” and reach my arms out as if I was going to pick her up. She would get a big kick out of that. She’d laugh and laugh and laugh and say: “girl, you’re so silly.” pexels-photo-226617.jpegDuring Granny’s stay at my house, I would wait on her hand and foot. I’d say: “Granny, you’re a queen and you should be treated like one.”  Granny would smile, take my hand and say:”Look here, I know you love me because you don’t just say it; you show it.”  She’d say: “I love all of my grandbabies but you and me, we got something special.” Then she’d conclude by saying: “see, you understand me, and I understand you.”  Our conversations on the phone and in-person consisted of her singing, me reading her some of my poetry and us talking about any and everything.  I’ve shared things with my Granny that I’ve never shared with another human being and she has done likewise with me. It seemed like Granny knew the times I needed her even when I kept it to myself.  When I was going through something,  I’d get a random call out of nowhere with Granny asking: “are you alright?” And me, I just began to cry and spill my guts.  Because Granny understood me, and I understood Granny.

baby-tears-small-child-sad-47090.jpegThe day I received a call that my Granny was seriously ill, and may pass away in a day or so; it literally felt like my whole world was crashing around me.  I was in so much pain that it felt like my heart was being yanked out of my chest. I just begin to wale!  I couldn’t even begin to imagine my world without my confidant, my rock, “Me Little Granny.” My family said they could feel my pain through my cries. That’s probably why God didn’t take her that year.  However, God did call her home the following year, and I must say; I was actually able to handle it a lot better. God always knows what’s best.

“Me Little Granny” has been gone for almost 5 years now. And I can’t say it hasn’t been hard going through my everyday life without her. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of her.  Especially, whenever something wonderful happens and I want to call and share it with her and then I remember I can’t.  Or now, when I’m going through a rough time, I no longer have that one, who truly understands me; to call.  I’ve accomplished some things that “Me Little Granny”  said I always would and it hurts that she’s not here to share it with.  I know I was Granny’s baby,  but Granny was Somebody’s Baby too… Mine.

baby-eyes-learning-watch-159599.jpegWith Granny being gone sometimes I feel like; I’m Nobody’s Baby now, but then I reminded that I am a Child of God so, I’m actually still Somebody’s Baby, the Heavenly Father’s.  For as much as my Granny loved me, and oh how she did love me; my Heavenly Father loves me more. Therefore, I know He didn’t take “Me Little Granny” to purposely cause me pain. He loved Granny, so He ended her pain.  And He loves you too.  So never forget; even though that loved one; you were extremely close to and had that special bond with, isn’t here anymore. You’re still Somebody’s Baby, God’s.birth-child-baby-newborn-50553.jpeg

 

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑